In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

Advising children that they can accomplish anything through hard work is relatively popular in some cultures. Teaching this way will increase their chances of success in life and also gives them self- assurance. However, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

Admittedly, the benefits of instilling the belief that anything is achievable if children put in enough effort are many and varied. Firstly, it makes them more successful in life by believing in their talents and abilities. Secondly, it teaches them that anything is achievable. Furthermore, by setting their minds to make anything happen as long as they work hard enough, makes them self-assured. A good example of this is a child who belongs to a low-life family with abject poverty, and finds it difficult to attend school may achieve anything in life with hard work, perseverance and dedication.

Nevertheless, despite these advantages, some problems may arise from such a message. A major drawback is that it can be detrimental to the mental wellbeing of the children. This is because they are still young, and unable to cope with disappointments and failures. To illustrate this point, some parents teach their children that they must pass with distinctions in their school work and examinations at all cost, or they will not be rewarded, if they failed to do so. Inability to achieve this can make them fall into self- doubt, which will decrease their self-confidence and motivation. Consequently, such poor performance at school may ultimately lead to depression, anxiety, lower self-esteem and behavioural problems, which might filter through their adult life.

In conclusion, while children benefit from the assertion that they can have everything as long as they work hard enough, it can also lead to mental health problems and inability to cope with failures.