In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

Moral support from parents play an important role in children's success. In many cultures, parents tell their children that anything can be achieved if they put enough efforts in it. This essay will discuss the main benefits including succeeding in career and achieving one's passion and will also discuss the drawbacks including pressure from parents and depression.

Children are often faced with pressure from their parents and depression, parents always force their children to go for something they want rather than what the children want. To further elaborate, telling them to become a doctor or an engineer if they try hard enough, can become a nightmare for children if they do not have any passion or interest for it. This can cause immense depression in children which ultimately affects their personality. For example, in Pakistan, many children commit suicide every day because they are forced to do something that they do not want to do. Oftentimes, pressuring children and giving them depression just because that they can achieve anything can cost them their lives.

On the other hand, those parents who support in the career path chosen by their children often results in positive outcomes. Children choosing their passion as the career and having moral support from their parents to try hard enough makes them successful in their lives. As an example, Arijit Singh, a famous Indian singer became successful in his career because his parents supported him in his journey. Lastly, supporting them in their passion and telling them that anything can be achieved can result in successful outcomes.

In conclusion, children are often guided in many countries around the world that anything can be attained if one strives hard enough for it. This essay discussed the advantages including career success and passion and presented the disadvantages including parent’s pressure and depression.