In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage

In some societies, people believe that it is good to tell children they can reach any goal if they strive adequately. While encouraging children is beneficial for them, it may also result in disappointment because of too big expectations.

Every child should be encouraged to pursue their dreams, no matter how aspirational and unrealistic. They will need eager of spreading their wings when they become adults. Moreover, the idea that working hard is a more important key factor of success than talents motivates children to continue challenging and time-consuming tasks such as learning a foreign language. This also can inspire young people from disadvantaged backgrounds with hope. For instance, children from poor families might find solace in the notion that studying hard can lead to a prosperous career.

On the other hand, this idea may push children too much. It brings additional load in their life and increases their stress factor. Children who are unable to achieve a goal may burn out due to working increasingly harder in the pursuit of an unattainable goal. In addition, children may set unachievable goals and waste their time and effort. To illustrate, a child wants to be a musician however he does not have enough musical ability. After lots of effort, he may be saddened.

To conclude, telling children that they can achieve anything through hard work motivates them to start and try. They may stick to important things in their life. However, it can also lead to an increase in stress levels. Therefore, children should be also told that giving priority is also important.