Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most teachers and professors think that every pupil should learn to play musical instruments. I totally disagree with this statement, because it has some disadvantages such as wasting time, also not all students are interested in playing on them.

On the one hand, learning them take so much time. Although, it has so many learning levels and tips. Additionally, every instrument need about 5 years spending time for studying and reading books may be useful for their future life. I have one friend he spent 5 years learning guitar, now he regrets, since, he chose another profession in terms of medicine, so it would be better if he studied something useful regarding to his future career.

On the other hand, some students do not want to learn how to play in musical instruments because they prefer spend their time to the activities that they enjoy doing. Every person has personal interestings depending on their character, some people like writing poems, while others prefer doing sport, not all scholars like playing musical instruments afterwards. For example, in our region there are less musical schools where few students attend that is why no more demands to this type of schools.

All in all, people who work in educational areas believe that children should git basic background about playing in musical instruments. In my opinion it may be useful if schools concentrate on pupils' interests, talents and select appropriate sphere to them.