Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer include any relevant examples from your experience and knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

There are some managers who trust that the social skill of job candidates is more significant than their academic level. In my point of view, I fully agree that possessing good social skills, apart from academic skills, can give people an edge in advancing their career.

It’s true that formal qualifications play a critical role in one’s career because they are generally good indicators of a person’s capability and specialized knowledge. In fact, there are many employers who need the employees to have specialized knowledge. This is particularly true for works that involve in-depth research and development such as information technology, computer science, and medicine. These days, if the candidates don’t have technical knowledge, they will not be hired by the companies, let alone get a promotion.

However, having only excellent credentials does not always help one’s career to be successful. In this modern society, people rarely work alone and often need to co-operate with other people like work in a team to get the best results. For that reason, people who have many soft skills to work with team members like presentation skills, communication skills, or teamwork skills will help them achieve good performance and results in their work. In contrast, those who lack such critical skills may suffer from isolation or miscommunication and trigger conflict among workers, preventing the overall working process. In short, people who possess good communication skills can often gain the love and trust of their co-workers and stand a higher chance of achieving success.

In conclusion, I believe that social skills have a strong correlation with career success as they can not only help a person integrate but also facilitate their working process.