Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than academic qualifications.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, social skills have become more essential than educational qualifications when recruiting employees in most businesses. I partially agree with the statement, and I would like to elaborate on it in detail below.

It is clear that excellent soft skill is one of the essential things to success on the career path. Specifically, negotiation skill is the key to approaching someone and building a good relationship for not only personal connection but also partnership relatives. First, negotiation skills mark professional communication skills for employees when working with sellers or partners; based on this, they can achieve outstanding business achievements. Secondly, people specializing in negotiation can apply to any position in the business industry. For instance, an employee with excellent presentation expertise can help customers understand the products and can convey to them to buy that product.

In contrast, some people believe that academic knowledge is highly required for career development because of the following reasons. Firstly, professional knowledge is a basic element for everyone to practice in a job. For example, employers all require a minimum of a bachelor’s degree for executive candidates. Furthermore, most multinational companies prefer employees with high qualifications to take prompt managerial decisions; leading to outstanding business development. As a result, there will be many advancement opportunities for highly qualified professionals.

In conclusion, I think both advanced studies and other social skills are of equal importance in today's recruitment market. Having workers with both these qualities makes an organization grow and helps in building a strong workforce altogether.