Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer.

What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

In recent decades, the social distance which is a result of wealth inequality have been exacerbated. Although there are some existing problems due to this social gap, effective solutions should be considered as soon as possible. And the essay below will explain more about my opinion.

There are a number of problems caused by the wealth inequality. First, poor people might have less opportunities for education and health care service because they are not able to pay off their bills. In fact, nowadays, the number of poor people who are forced to quit schools or suffer from severe illnesses has been increasing dramatically over the past decades. Second, the wide gap between poor and rich people can lead to an instability of the society. According to numerous updating surveys, there is a close correlation between the crime rate and the wealth inequality. In other words, when the poor could not have abilities to cover their own lives, they tend to involve in crimes such as robbery, burglary or deception.

Nevertheless, there have been many good solutions for these problems. First, by imposing higher taxes on the rich, governments have an effective way to raise funds and then support the poor as supplementary benefit. Moreover, national social organizations could contribute a substantial impact to address the problems. This means that poor people should feel free when seeking for job opportunities, scholarships and health insurance at these organizations. The more poor people’s demands are met, the more crime rate could be reduced in turn.

In conclusion, wealth inequality has been receiving a great deal of concern due to its social impact. By adjusting tax policies and supporting social organizations, government can be a decent contributor to a fairer society.