Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these days and ages, a section of recruiters often put a premium on applicant soft skills rather than their academic certificates. While I do believe that soft skills can play a crucial role in the recruitment process, I would argue that the academic qualifications are inevitable features in the recruitment.

On the one hand, social competency is a skill that employees should possess. This is supported by the fact that it can help enhance the collaboration between applicants and thus, lead to the improvement of the company’s performance. A case in point is the two skill sets which are problem-solving skills and customer service. If the employee has these two qualities, he or she will definitely have a suitable position in the business industry.

On the other hand, academic certificates still play a pivotal role. First, these certificates are the official indicators of the employees knowledge and ability, proving that they have a thorough understanding and in-depth know-how about a certain career. Take doctors, for instance, after many years of studying they are equipped with adequate understanding about the human body and medication, thereby improving the process of diagnosing and curing diseases.

In addition, applicants' academic qualifications can lay foundations for higher improvement. Thanks to the background knowledge they have already possessed, it will be much easier for them to be entitled to attend master degree, or even doctoral degree. As a consequence, it can have a profound effect on the company‘s performance.

In the final analysis, despite importance of social skills, I personally reckon that recruiters should prioritize academic certificates.