Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people argue that it is advisable to start teaching children a foreign language at elementary school rather than secondary school. In my opinion, the fact that learning a new language at young age brings more advantages than disadvantages.

On the one hand, teaching a foreign language to primary school students creates a wide variety of benefits. To start with, young children are in more capability of enlarging their vocabulary than those in secondary school. Specifically, due to their young age, their memory is obviously better than secondary students. Besides, they have more time to study a foreign language than older students. Evidently, primary school students do not have to deal with as much homework, test, examination as students at secondary school, which means they are able to spend a large amount of time on learning a new language.

On the other hand, some arguments can be made that it is difficult to attach primary school students’ attention to the lessons. The main reason for this is that young children are too young to be aware of their duty to learn a foreign language. But closer examination would reveal that if a lesson is designed interestingly, young children will pay their full attention to their teacher and lessons. Moreover, some educationalists suggest parents and teachers to nurture their interest in learning a new language by letting them watch and listen to foreign videos and music, and using foreign language to talk with them in daily conversations.

Having considered all the arguments above, I would conclude that starting to teach a new language to children at primary school would enjoy more benefits overall.