some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When the issue of public transport fee comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Many people believe that it is the government’s responsibility to fund mass transit so everyone can have access to it without charge. From my perspective, there is no need for the government to subsidize these fees for the following reasons.

The first reason is that the government cannot cover all the fees. In other words, if the authority funds public transport, it has to involve many kinds of payment, ranging from employment to maintenance costs. Besides, there are many other fields which also need financial support from the government, especially science and education; as a result, once the government decides to support this industry, it may stand the risk of being under financial pressure. Take China as an illustration. This country’s government funded public transport with an aim to make it accessible to everyone in 2008; however, a few months later, it had to cut this funding due to the economic crisis. This example directly suggests that the expense on public transport may become an economic pressure for the government once it sponsors this industry.

Another justification is that the service and quality of public transport will not be guaranteed. To be more specific, the government has to care for many things; hence, if it supports this industry financially, it can only fund a small amount of money. However, this money cannot make sure of the service and sanitary; thus, buses and trains may become dirty and overcrowded. This may lead to the fact that fewer people will choose to commute by public transports; therefore, private companies and businesses should invest in these transports so that its quality can be guaranteed. Consequently, residents should pay for the public transports’ fees so as to maintain the high-quality of these transports.

In conclusion, the government should not fund the public transports; instead, the residents should pay money in order to guarantee the service and the cleanliness of the mass transit.