Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

On the contemporary society, there is a common argument that a foreign language should be inserted into curriculum at elementary schools rather than secondary schools. From my perspective, the advantages gained from this phenomenon overshadow the disadvantages.

As a matter of fact, there are a couple of compelling reasons why individuals belive students should not learn a new language at primary schools rather than middle schools. First and foremost, children at the age of 5 to 10 are not able to fully and permanently concentrate on the lessons due to the fact that they have their own predilection such as playing games, singing or colouring. Thus, it could be difficult to compel children to learn something else besides their syllabus subjects. In addition, some children will find it challenging for them to study both of the mother tongue and foreign language. Indeed, they are only 5 years old, so learning both languages ​​at the same time is overwhelming and makes them easily confused.

Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, the younger children are, the longer it will take to memorize and the easier it will be to learn a new language. Indeed, some researchers has shown that because of the brain’s elasticity and rapid neural formation young children are able to learn languages at a faster and better rate. Thus, before being mature, learning a new language will be easy and effective. The second reason is that a second language gives kids an edge over their peers by increasing problem-solving, critical thinking, and listening skills, as well as improving their memory and concentration ability. As a result, children with knowledge of other languages experience greater cognitive flexibility and creativity.

In conclusion, the negative consequences that this trend brings cannot be denied. However, from my perspective, the significant benefits it gains can completely eclipse these demerits.