Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, a lot of translation software is available. However, it is believed that learning a language could still have a plethora of advantages. From my perspective, I completely agree with this opinion, since it help us in many aspects of life.

On the one hand, learning a language may help people to widen their knowledge. When people learn a language of a country, they have to find and read books, watch documentaries about that country in the language that they are learning. By this way, they have a chance to know more about their culture and their customs. For instance, my brother-in-law learnt Japanese in order to study in Japan 5 years ago. By learning Japanese, he knew that reading magazines and comics is one of the Japanese’s hobbies. Moreover, people learning a new language may avoid culture shock, since they have no difficulty in language barriers.

On the other hand, people may have an effective communication by learning a new language. As they can speak that language fluently, know more about the usage of structures and words than other people, they feel more confident to have a conversation with foreigners. For example, my friend have learnt Korean by herself and she had a chance to visit Korea 2 years ago. During her vacation, she can easily enter a conversation with Korean and make new friends. As a result, she had an unforgettable tour, which a translation software cannot provide.

In conclusion, a plethora of translation software cannot replace the necessity of learning a language, since it has a lot of benefits in social life. In spite of the expansion of translation software, people should not rely on it.