Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation has led to introduction of foreign language in school cirricullum. Thus, in order to ensure that school children learn them easily, some experts are of opinion that they should be introduced early on in schools rather than at later grades. I believe that this will be beneficial to children.

Proponents of the argument that foreign language should be taught in secondary school opine that once children are older they are better able to grasp nuances of foreign language. It is also believed that, since these children are already learning their mother tongue in primary school, introducing another language can overburden them. Young school children may find it difficult to distinguish between language spoken at home and that taught in school. This may lead to confusion and the child may end up learning neither languages satisfactorily.

However, there are enough evidences that show that children learn certain skills better when they are taught early. For example, most young children are known to learn and grasp language from their diverse neighbours despite no formal training. Therefore, it is better to start teaching them foreign language at young age. Also, in primary schools the number of subjects covered in curicullum are fewer in comparison to secondary schools. Thus students may in fact learn the language in better way rather than just for increasing their grades. Finally, exposure to different language can help children to develop an interest in linguistic skills and serve as a future career opportunity.

To summarize, there are far more advantages of learning foreign language in lower grades in school and any concerns related to confusing them with other language are misplaced as children are known to be fast learners.