Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, opinions differ as to whether any economic progression and prosperity would not bring satisfaction to inhabitants when a country has become affluent. Although a school of thoughts holds that the residents of a prosperous nation no longer prioritise economy and wealth, I would advocate that these factors might make them content to some extent.

On the one hand, a vast array of reasons has prevailed some individuals on acknowledging the former opinion. Firstly, since a country is rich, wealth and economic development are no longer the concerns of a large number of inhabitants. This can be perfectly exemplified that Japanese magnates tend to retire at the young age in order to spare time for theirselves and families. Hence, in lieu of devoting too much focus on finance, wealth individuals are prone to put some aspects of their lives like health or relaxation on the top of their priorities to be happy. Furthermore, a thriving economy requires corporations and companies to work more. It may lead to the fact that local citizens have to deal with a great amount of workload and have more shifts, which might make them feel unsatisfactory.

On the other hand, there are a host of justifications convincing me to concede that economic thrive and prosperity could beneficial to the residents of an affluent nation. The first factor is that prosperity facilitates the improvements of the living standards in some rich countries. For instance, thanks to the wealthy economy, the inhabitants of the UK can get access to plenty social previledges like healthcare or education, which creates opportunities for them to have a good life. Moreover, the development of economy and wealth are capable of bringing a great amount of money for a nation to deal with its issues. To illustrate, but for a prosperous economy, the USA could not have enough money to allocate for making investments to some fundamental fields such as national security or education. Accordingly, this country could not have become strongest and most influencial like today.

In conclusion, apparently, it cannot be denied that a thriving economies cannot make citizens feel happy; nevertheless, I want to affirm that people can reap a lot of benefits of these factors.