In some parts of the world it is increasingly popular to research the history of one's own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?
In recent years, genealogy has been receiving a great deal of public attention.
Although this appears unreasonable, the advantages that it brings will be much more
significant. This essay will include my opinions and shed light on several possible
advantages and disadvantages.
There are several main reasons why studying the family tree is of great value to the
vast majority of people. One reason is that it plays an important part in healthcare, and creates favorable
conditions for doctors to have a better understanding of the medical history of a
person. Diabetes and even cancers are a case in point. Furthermore, finding out about the family history helps trace living relatives as
well as those who passed away. In others words, it opens up possibilities to find
long-lost loved ones.
Apart from the benefits/ disadvantages mentioned above, those who are in favor
of/ against making family tree may argue that. Firstly, it requires a lot of resources in terms of money, time and effort in that it
demands state of the art technologies such as AN testing. Secondly, genealogy tends to deliver false results, and it is likely to break family
happiness.
However, I subscribe to the view that the disadvantages of genealogy pales into
insignificance in comparison to advantages that it brings because it helps people gain a
good insight into the culture and tradition, especially imigrants.
In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that it is
necessary to research our family tree.