In some parts of the world it is increasingly popular to research

the history of one’s own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In certain nations the idea of looking into one’s family history is gaining popularity. There are a variety of explanations for this trend and I would argue that this is a positive development.

The trend toward learning more about one’s ancestors and family tree can be explained by several factors, chief of which is that one does this simply out of curiosity. This is particularly prevalent in multicultural countries such as the United States which has a sizeable number of immigrants. For instance, many American born Vietnamese in an attempt to find out about their roots may learn about the hardships their great grandparents had to endure while fleeing the Vietnam War in 1975. This knowledge could in turn instill in them a sense of pride and appreciation of their current life which would be very different now had their ancestors decided not to migrate a few decades ago.

I believe the rising popularity of researching one’s family history is a positive trend. One justification could be that such an activity could be highly educational for an individual. If a teenager, for example, were to find out he was the descendant of the most wanted criminal who received a life sentence in prison for his heinous crimes, he would likely be deterred from taking the same path and grow into a more upright citizen. This shows the benefits that can be derived from educating oneself about his family history given the increasing rates of juvenile delinquency in today’s society.

In conclusion, the rising popularity of researching one’s ancestry can be attributed to a number of factors and my belief is that this is a positive development.