In some parts of the world it is increasingly popular to research the history of one's own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Many different countries around the globe are experiencing a rising tendency that is to dig up the family's tree. I believe that there are two reasons leading to this trend: curiosity and medical purposes and I am convinced that it is a positive trend.

Most people do research on the origin of their own family to satisfy their curiosity. People might be curious whether they have royal roots or what life was like centuries ago and there is an urge to fulfil such curiosity. To explain further, satisfaction causes great psychological effects thanks to the release of dopamine in the brain. Moreover, people want to trace back to their origin for medical purposes. They may want to find out if they inherit any genetic diseases to have prompt prevention methods. For example, a recent Harvard University's study shows that 70% of the surveyed people who know they have a family tradition of cancer are more likely to have a health check on a consistent regular basis.

In my view, this tendency is definitely a positive one. Firstly, looking into the family's history helps strengthen the bond between family members. It starts with stories told by parents to meetings with relatives like uncles, aunts, cousins... helping one to establish the intimate connections with the rest of the family. Secondly, family history study allows the next generations deep understanding of the family's traditional values. This encourages one to preserve their family's customs as well as the country's cultural practices. For example, Bat Trang porcelain and pottery village is able to maintain the Vietnamese cultural values in ceramic arts thanks to the practice of passing family historical knowledge from generation to generation of people here.

In conclusion, people tend to investigate their families' historical backgrounds out of curiosity or for medical purposes, which is a positive trend due to the family bond formation and culture preservation, and hence, should be encouraged.