Some peole believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that government should make it free for all students no matter what finacial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As pursuing higher education is significantly prioritized in this day and age, the abolishment of tuition fee regardless of student’s background is believed to be necessary. While this proposal is valid to some extent, I would argue that there are quite notable drawbacks to be discussed.

There are many compelling reasons why the provision of free-of-charge education should be encouraged. In the first place, this will offer better job opportunities for bachelor’s degree holders, especially those who come from underprivileged families. Consequently, the undergraduates are able to fully concentrate on their study without being concerned about monetary issues. Furthermore, this policy will ensure a more educated workforce that contributes to the country’s prosperity.

However, tuition waivers also entail some critical disadvantages. When college degrees are widely available in society, the competition among job seekers will therefore increase, which means that those qualifications will not surely assure the graduates their desired occupations. Moreover, the budget deficiency seems probably inevitable as the government takes responsibility for the whole teaching charge. In consequence of the imbalance in the money resources, the authority will then have no choice but to increase tax as well as reduce the welfare. In the end, this will have an adverse effect on people’s life.

In conclusion, while the idea of waiving tuition fee is seemingly a good one, I believe that the government should not make college free for everyone.