Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that death penalty is unacceptable in contemporary society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The matter of crime and punishment has always been a highly debatable issue in a number of countries. Some believe death sentence is an appropriate penalty for criminals convicted of murder or acts of terrorism, while others are assured that such measures should not be implemented in the modern world. Although capital punishment is supposed to be effective offense prevention mechanism, I am still convinced that the use of this practice is exposed to fatal errors of judgment.

On the one hand, death penalty is the safest way (avenue) to keep dangerous offenders away from society.(death penalty serves as a deterrent mechanism in warding off This is because criminal history knows hundreds of cases when the unchained felons continued their illegal activities after their release or escape from jail. Moreover, the societies where executions are implemented appear to be more secure since the potential law-breakers are deterred with the possibility of the harsh perspective.

For instance, in 2016 the US National Bureau of Statistics reported that the American states that had not been using the capital punishment suffered from twice as many terroristic attacks as compared to the ones where executions had been allowed. In other words, the security of the tool is its indisputable advantage.

On the other hand, death penalty is considered to be a highly contradictory instrument. The thing is that, unlike other judicial decisions, lethal injections or electric chair executions are impossible to cancel once implemented. Therefore, each time a court happens to make an erroneous conclusion in a brutal crime case, an innocent person gets sentenced to death. Hence, this kind of punishment does not imply any correction of mistakes. For example, a recent article of “Boston Spotlight” shed the light upon the story of John Macnamarra who was wrongfully sentenced to death in 1986 due to the corrupted investigators. Thus, the price society pays for executions is too significant to afford.

In conclusion, even though arguments in favour of capital punishment also look persuasive, I still believe such measure should be banned in the today’s society.