Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think the success is much related to the mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that physical condition is the most important factor which insists players to win the games. Others, however, feel that mental attitudes play a more crucial role. I believe that the joint effort of physical strength and the mental attitude is the key to the success in sports competitions.

On the one hand, the strongest and fittest sports players would have the most competitive edge in winning the games. This is because sports activity demands every athlete taking high-intensity physical training all year around, which may keep them in good body condition. For example, in some individual sports events, such as marathon and weight lifting, they require sportsmen to have a strong body as the core fundamental of the victory. This is also true to team sports like football or volleyball. The winning teams are always consisting of plays who have better physical condition.

On the other hand, it is impossible to deny that a stable mental mind would have a huge influence on one’s success in sports. From the beginning of the sports competition to the end of it, the mind of every sports player would always be on edge, therefore, every athlete need to have high requirements in mental condition. For instance, in the NBA Finals 2016, Golden State Warriors led Cleveland Cavaliers by a large margin. However, the history has always been so dramatic, the basketball plays from Cleveland Cavaliers resisted the pressure to become the champion. This could explain why in the training sessions of athletes, there is not only high-intensive physical training but also courses related to psychology.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both elements in physical and mental are equal to individual and teams’ triumph in sports.