Some people argue that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, with the upsurge in the awareness of the general public about environmental issues, the debate concerning the measures that can be done by governments or individuals has been intense. Some people are of the opinion that the general public has not the potential to combat environmental problems, and only governments and large corporations are able to overcome environmental issues. Yet to the best of my knowledge, I completely support this notion as one can see many facts if governments take this responsibility.

The first reason why individuals can do nothing to improve the environment is rooted in the fact that implementing an environmental policy needs a huge budget and modern-day equipment. For example, for solving the air pollution problem, if governments are willing to persuade citizens to commute by public transportation systems, at first transportation infrastructures have to be improved by adding modern electric vehicles, new bus routes covering all over the city and so forth. There is little doubt that only governments or large companies have the needed potential to conduct such huge environmental projects at the national level.

Another justification is that governments and some organizations, by setting out protective rules or banning the activity of some industries, have the power to fight with environmental problems. Attaching no importance to environmental issues, some factories release pollutants to the atmosphere or to water resources. In this situation, governments or a strict organization equipped with experts and state-of-the-art technologies supervise all industries, forcing them to obey environmental rules and charging them with high fees if they broke a law.

In the light of these facts, one can conclude that combating with environmental problems needs money, power, and modern equipment and obviously these requirements are not accessible and affordable for the general public. there is no point in denying that governments and large organizations are the best choices to solve environmental issues.