tobacco is an addictive substance, but people have been using it freely.Some people say tobacco products (such as cigarettes and smoking pipes) should be made illegal.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the upsurge in the number of people who smoke regularly has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the whole society. To address people's smoking problem, some people are of the opinion that the trade and inhaling tobacco products should be banned by governments while others do not take the same position on this issue. Yet to the best of my knowledge, I completely reject this notion as one can see many pitfalls on exerting this limitation.

There can be little doubt that prohibiting the general public from smoking at large is not the most effective way for some reasons. Undoubtedly, by this action, officials will trigger the trafficking of tobacco products all around the country especially in frontiers, adding a heavy burden on the responsibility of the police officers. It is obvious this illegalization helps criminals to extend their profit margins. Dissatisfied from societal limitations, those smoking addicted individuals would not give their smoking habit up and continue inhaling the cigarette in their homes like other illegal drugs.

Another main justification is that a large number of people are working in companies that provide the general public with different types of the cigarette and smoking pipes and so forth. Undeniably, implementing restrictions on tobacco products will have detrimental effects on the economy of a country, increasing the number of unemployed people and spread poverty. It should be noted that the vast majority of governments, especially of those developed countries, have earned lump sum income by taxing smoking-related industries. Obviously, this banning will cause that governments lose their tax revenue and will face them with a tight budget.

In the light of these facts, one can conclude that at first sight maybe the illegalization of smoking decreases the consumption of the cigarette and other tobacco products, but over time it will have detrimental effects on the sense of freedom of the general public and the rate of crime. Also, this action will put the economy and the industry of a country at risk.