Some people argue job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others believe a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people say job satisfaction is more essential than job security, there are those who claim that a permanent job is of greater significance. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and why I believe job satisfaction plays a more important role than job security.

On the one hand, some people believe a permanent job is more important because of the stability and credibility it brings. In terms of finance, workers with a permanent job know exactly their monthly income, and thus are in full control of their financial plan. As a consequence, they will no longer have to worry about short-term financial problems, such as bills and debts, and could be fixated on other important matters like their career trajectory. In addition, staying loyal to one job results in higher credibility, as many employers view prioritizing job security as an indicator of organizational commitment. Gaining the trust of employer opens many opportunities for promotion and additional perks, be it bonuses or extra day-offs.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why job satisfaction is believed to be more important than job security. A worker gains satisfaction when his needs and desires are fulfilled. For example, Google provides gym, climbing walls, or video gaming machines in most of its offices to suit different needs and desires of its employees. Once satisfied, workers are less likely to suffer from work stress or burnout, enhancing productivity and employee morale. As for employers, keeping their employees satisfied is an effective way to reduce turnover rate. A person who is satisfied with their job is less likely to be job seeking, and making it easier for companies to recruit and retain talents.

In conclusion, while some people believe job security plays a more significant role because of financial stability and work credibility, I side with those who believe the importance of job satisfaction exceed that of job security, as satisfied employees are more likely to be more productive and committed to the organization.