Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the oppisite view and feel that these large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Large-scaled multinational companies are increasingly expanding their businesses into developing nations. While some people believe that a great number of benefits will be brought to the economies of those developing countries, others take the opposite view and suggest that more harm is likely to be inflicted. In this essay I will discuss both views and argue in favor of the first opinion.

A growing body of research suggest that multinationals have a generally positive effect on economies of developing countries. One key benefit is that international investment helps creates job opportunities for local people which can lead to a better living standard. Taking VietNam as an example, numernous Japanese and Korean manufacturers have launched in some parts of the country the last few years. Each of these factories offers thousands of jobs to locals both skilled and unskilled. It becomes obvious across vietnam that people living in provinces where international companies are located lead a wealthier life.

However, there are also negative impacts from international corporations which should be considered. One major issue is that the increasing of manufacturers results in pollution in areas they operate. Given the fact that garbage disposal system in these countries are not as advanced, it is difficult to get rid of all waste coming out from industrial production from these multinationals. For example, due to the lack of proper waste treatments, India is suffering from heavily polluted water and the main pollutants are proven to be rubbish and chemical substances from factories.

In conclustion, while international investments bring about more environmental challenges to emergent nations, they also help create more jobs for local resident, thus reduce unemployment rate and increase standard of living in the area. In my opinion, despite having some negative effects, I believe multinational corporations are viturally benefical to the economies of the host countries.