Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

There have been an increasing debates as to whether or not older people should be allowed to work as long as they can. Some individuals maintain that it is beneficial to let the elderly work beyond the retirement age. I concur with this perception because if people can work longer, they will contribute more to the economy. Additionally, working helps prevent the occurrence of some senile diseases, namely alzheimer’s, dementia, etc.

On the other hand, working does wonders for one’s brain. There is often a decline in the cognitive abilities of older adults because people tend to relax their brain after retirement. In contrast, work provides many opportunities for learning, reasoning, socializing,etc all of which help stave off the adverse effects aging can have on the brain. For example, many university professors still work in their 70s because they believe that only by working do their brains remain sharp.

On the one hand, by working longer, individuals helps grow the economy. This is because when people have a job, they can earn salaries which are often times much higher than their pension. With a decent amount of earnings, people are willing to spend more on goods and services, which promotes production. To illustrate, my dad used to live economically on his pension of around 120 dollars a month. However, now that he has a job, he starts to buy himself new clothes and shoes.

In conclusion, I am in harmony with some people suggesting that the elderly should be given the permission to work longer. This development does not only aid seniors in maintaining good mental health, but it is also advantageous to economic system of a nation.