Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals are of the opinion that the greater opportunities to get better occupations after graduated is the purpose of university education. In contrast, the others argue that university learning has much wider benefits for individuals and society as a whole (simultaneously). From my perspective, although both views hold merits, I am inclined to support the latter view.

On one hand, there are various purposes of university education but it is true that people continue to learn in universities on grounds of wanting to get better jobs. To be more detailed, after the graduation, each student can receive the certificate which is the recognition for their knowledge that they acquired, thus, people can get more interest from companies. Furthermore, with certificates from well-known universities, the graduates can easily attract the recruiter of huge corporations or companies. Therefore, in some ways, the aim of university is to provide better job opportunities for people.

On the other hand, the advantages of universities are wider, stretching from the individuals to the society. People in the university can improve some social skills which is mandatory for their future jobs. For instance, by studying in university, students can improve their interpersonal skills such as cooperating with the others, presenting personal projects in front of the whole class. Moreover, the students in universities also do an amount of volunteer works or joining volunteering organizations which contribute to the construction of a better society.

To conclude, although having huge opportunities in getting better jobs is one of the main aim for students to learn in universities, there are still a multitude of benefits that university education provide for students. For that reasons, the students should put an effort to acquire all the pros that university can bring.