Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisons about matters that affect them.

Children represents the future of society. While some say that letting children to make decisions on matters like food, clothes and entertainment is likely to make them self centered, it is still a contentious matter. Proponents argue that children should be allowed to make choices on matters that affect them. Despite it makes them self serving, it will foster child's development as a whole.

A person who thinks about own wishes or desires is often regarded as egoistic. These kind of individuals only focus on themselves in extreme times. As an example, if a situation arrives in which a self centered person has to choose, he would always prefer himself over others. Children who inculcate this kind of behaviour will render themselves in a situation of becoming a social disdain. They will thus likely to loose an ultra important skill of social interaction as they only focus on their own needs and wishes.

However, allowing children to build their own choices will help them to acquire the ability of decision making. Firstly it will hasten the process of brain development. This in turn will improve their IQ levels. Secondly, it will make them independent which is worthwhile to survive in today's world. By not depending on their gaurdians for anything they will adapt more quickly to different situations. To illustrate, only because i was allowed to make my own decisions since i was a child i survived in hostel when i had to go out of the city for higher studies as i already knew the meaning of being independent. Children with this skill will know the consequences of bad or good choices made by them hence they would not blame anybody for it in future which is a good achievment in itself.

To reciprocate, although permitting children to make their own choices leave them self centered, it has other benefits towards child's growth in the long run. In my opinion, children should be encouraged to make decisions as to evolve their brain functions so that they succeed as an individual in today's world.