Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisons about matters that affect them.

Children represents the future of society. While some say that letting children to make decisions on matters like food, clothes and entertainment is likely to make them self-centered, it is still a contentious matter. Proponents argue that children should be allowed to make choices on matters that affect them. Despite it makes them self-serving, it will foster child's development as a whole.

One who only thinks about own wishes or desires is often regarded as an egoistic person. Children with this behaviour will likely to experience difficulties to cope up in the society. Lets take an example of child's school, the first thing taught to him is the capability of sharing things and understanding emotional situations of others. Self-centered children will never inculcate this ability and thus would not be accepted by other children in school. Not only this, they will not be able to feel the emotional situations of their families as they will lack the skill of attachment and hence would end up being alone their whole life.

However, allowing children to build their own choices will help them to acquire the ability of decision making. Firstly it will hasten the process of brain development. This in turn will improve their IQ levels. Secondly, it will make them independent which is worthwhile to survive in today's world. By not depending on their guardians for anything they will adapt more quickly to different situations. To illustrate, only because I was allowed to make my own decisions since I was a child I survived in hostel when i had to go out of the city for higher studies as I already knew the meaning of being independent. Children with this skill will know the consequences of bad or good choices made by them hence they would not blame anybody for it in future which is a good achievement in itself.

To reciprocate, although permitting children to make their own choices leave them self-centered, it has other benefits towards child's growth in the long run. In my opinion, children should be encouraged to make decisions as to evolve their brain functions so that they succeed as an individual in today's world.