Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people contend that children will become selfish when they only make choices based on their own interest, while others maintain that the freedom of making decisions really matters a lot. From my perspective, a child can be more decisive when he grows up if he is allowed to choose.

Some worry that children's decisions are only for themselves and they might foster bad habits like not caring about others. For instance, if a kid is fond of Western food such as the steak and French fries, he might ask his parents to cook the steak at home or order expensive steak in the restaurant frequently. If a child enjoys the roller coaster, then the amusement park can be the sole destination in every summer vacation. However, those choices are only favored by the kid rather than most of the families. The kids don't know the result of those choices and they take it for granted that everyone will follow them no matter where they want to go or what they would like to eat. All these will definitely lead to detrimental results. They might ignore the feelings of others and only do what favors themselves.

Nevertheless, when given opportunities to choose, children can quickly obtain the ability to make the best choice. In the shopping mall, children can buy what they like. Although some may argue that children might only pick the famous and dear ones, the recent survey shows that children have the ability to balance the price and the design. In addition, students will choose their major in college and their jobs after graduation without hesitation when they are used to making their own choices. In this highly competitive society, too much hesitation might indicate that chances are gone.

All in all, although some choices might only benefit children themselves, with more knowledge, they gradually learn to make the best decision and become decisive when they grow up. After all, the successful person is usually the one who can quickly determine what to choose.