Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about the matters that affect them

Decisions play an important part in our daily life. We get to choose from very trivial matters such as clothes or food to more important career making decisions like what career paths to choose or what course to take up. While some people believe that letting their children to take decisions on their own results in individuals being selfish, others think that every individual should have decision making capabilities.

We all know, the person we are now is the result our decisions back then. My parents have always allowed me to take my own decisions because they think that this makes the person more independent. According to the recent article I read from a youth Councillor, he mentioned that most of the youth come to him saying that they regret certain decisions in their life especially career or educational which they took succumbing to parental pressure. If our life decisions are made by somebody else then there are high possibilities of ending up being unhappy.

People who take their own decisions do not become selfish, instead they become wise. They develop better judgement of the situation and will be able to act accordingly. Decision making capabilities strengthens the individualism which is often mistaken for selfish behavior.

To conclude, decisions are very important aspect of our life. We get to choose between somethings in our life every now and then. While some people are capable of taking responsibilities and make decisions for themselves, there are some people who require assistance in decision making. When we assist someone to take decisions , we need to aware that we can only show them the path but the decision has to be theirs.