Some people believe that to be a successful sportsperson, one needs to have a natural ability. Others think that hard work and practice are more important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Time is altering and so are the effective factors influencing athletes’ success. Whether a highly successful sportsperson is born or made has sparked a heated controversy the world over. Although it is stringently opined by some that having an innate talent in a specific field of sport can act as a catalyst for people’s triumph, owing to their capability to learn quickly compared to others, it will be proven by this essay that this may not be the case. In other words, untiring perseverance plays an influentially pivotal role in being triumphant in sports inasmuch as possessing this characteristic can fully compensate for the lack of natural facility for doing sport. Throughout the following paragraphs, these points will be meticulously scrutinized to advocate the latter adequately logical standpoint.

It is sternly postulated by some that a sportsperson should have a natural aptitude in order to make athletic achievements in their field due to their rapid progress, acting as an incentive, on the one side. Take a 15-year old swimmer, reaping the benefits of his raw talent in swimming, enabling him to learn faster than his peers with average skills, as an illustration. By this, he is highly likely to be stimulated, contributing to being a professional swimmer. It is exemplified by this glaringly apparent instance that athletically gifted individuals can achieve impressive sports success. Whereas this might be deemed somehow irrefutable, this viewpoint is strictly disagreed by this essay.

Being a persistent person is inextricably interwoven with outstanding athletics performance since this personality trait, without a shadow of a doubt, can make up for inadequate inherent abilities in sports, on the other hand. Ronaldo, a universally well-known soccer player, has acknowledged the fact that he has become a globally prominent player due to his countless hours of practicing, notwithstanding his insufficient gift in this sport, to illustrate. By shedding light on this example, it is crystal clear that diligent athletes, categorically, are capable of exploiting their full potential and become a successful sportsperson. Strong determination, thus, ought to constitute a major element in sports achievements.

To recapitulate, after the careful situational analysis of the paramount significance of hard work in athletics accomplishments, it seems that considering the innate gift is conspicuously superficial. Based on the aforementioned compelling grounds, it is, hoped these important points will be taken into account by coaches in the foreseeable future.