Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The use of phones by students while attending classes has been causing disputes among educators, parents, and other people interested in the field of education for decades. Although some people believe that phones can be a useful tool aiding students in learning, others, including myself, consider them to be a major source of distraction.

To commence with, digital devices, especially something as portable and convenient as smartphones, have long been proven to have negative impacts on students' attention span and cognitive development. The youth, who are at a stage where they experience a strong urge of belonging and fear of missing out, cannot resist the temptation of a smartphone that enables them to connect and stay updated on news and trends instantly. There are common cases of students who check their social accounts almost every 5 minutes although they are having a lesson, and this seemingly trivial action can deflect their attention from the class. This, in the long run, can result in a short attention span and an inability to engage in deep work, or a stage of concentration where one's cognitive capabilities are pushed to their limit.

In opposition to this, in-class phone use advocates argue that technology-incorporated classrooms will be beneficial for both students and teachers on the ground that technology facilitates stimulating learning activities such as gamification, where students can use their phones to play educational quizzes. However, I believe such classes do not necessitate phone use because the activities can be adjusted not to require phones without negative effects on their outcomes. Additionally, misuse during class can prove to be counter-productive. In classes where the number of students reaches 35 or 40, teachers will find it overwhelming to regulate proper phone use of the students, which can result in disturbance and attention problems as mentioned above.

In conclusion, I adhere to the no-phone rule during class hours as this can guarantee that students will pay attention to their lessons, as well as optimize their cognitive capabilities.