Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that nowadays sport has become an integral part of the young generation. However, while I believe that competitive sports must play a role in education, I agree with some individuals that in some particular countries, schools are only suitable for academic purposes.

On the one hand, I acknowledge that competitive sports should be taught in the school for many tremendous benefits. First of all, taking part in sports classes help the students to stay healthy, keep fit, develop physical strength and reduce the risk of obesity. Furthermore, sports can improve their mental health because playing sports requires concentration, discipline, refreshes the mind, and make players get used to failure. Secondly, participating in outdoor activities like sports encourage people to build social relationships as well as enhancing social skills. For example, the players must cooperate effectively with their teammates in the game. As a result, this builds their friendship and mutual respect between them.

On the other hand, in some special situation, it is argued that there is no necessity to teach competitive sports in the schools. Firstly, a certain number of countries all over the world can not afford to build sports infrastructures for the education. For instance, many state schools in Vietnam do not own any sports facilities due to the lack of funding. Besides, street sports such as football are very popular in Brazil and Argentina which attract a considerable number of children to play. As a consequence, they do not have to take part in sports at the schools.