Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent times, a majority of citizens hold the view that there is no point in allocating financial packages to reserve the animal species that are on the verge of extinction. From my point of view, I firmly believe that the local authority should invest more for preserving those animals in danger simply because this actions effect positively to the maintenance of certain species.

On the one hand, there are a myriad of explanations behind the benefits that endangered species could derive from being protected in the zoo, chief of which is the reduced threats from illegal hunters. As a matter of fact, if some wild species are not controlled and saved promptly by the governments as well as the community, they can be the commercial targets for the animal traders due to several valuable body parts of those species. By way of illustration, preserving the elephants on the brink of extinction has gained widespread concern among a large number of countries across the globe. In particular, illegal hunters could deliberately kill the mature elephants to acquire their tusks for the ivory trade. Therefore, when the elephants are kept in a wildlife enclosure with the installation of CCTV cameras and the huge security force, the risk of being hunted will never be a problem with the endangered elephants. Moreover, the construction of zoos might encourage such species to reproduce without any danger from the human.

On the other hand, zoos can be the ideal places for people, especially children, to obtain more knowledge about the lives of wild animals. In fact, with the fast-paced development of urban areas, the tall buildings such as apartments or factories are being raised at an alarming rate. Thanks to the increasing allocation of the authorities to the building of zoos as recreational and educational destinations for the city dwellers, students and adults might have an opportunity to be aware of the way of living of endangered animals in reality life, hence more throughout understandings about the significance of aforementioned species to the perpetuation of the Earth's biodiversity. As a result, more individuals would take part in several volunteer works aimed to organizing campaigns to preserve the endangered species and to prevent animals from illegal hunting as well as illegal trade.

In conclusion, saving the species on the brink of disappearance might have a host of advantages for not only the animals but also the people's awareness of protecting those species.