Since travelling abroad became relatively inexpensive, more countries opened their doors for foreign tourists. Is it a positive or negative trend? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

In recent times, going on a vacation in a country is no longer a luxury; therefore, a large number of nations welcome more vacationers. From my point of view, this trend benefits advantageously to both social and economic aspects.

On the one hand, international tourism might boost national economy in many ways. Thanks to the low-cost airlines, individuals with tight budget can still afford a trip abroad, usually the neighboring countries to visit tourist destinations. As a matter of fact, they spend a certain amount of money on food, accommodations, souvenirs or tourist activities. Consequently, local people can earn their living by providing the visitors with goods and services, and the holiday-makers may help boost the local economy. Hence, the local residents would improve their standard of living. To exemplify, Ha Long coastal city has a bundle of sandy beaches that has welcomed millions of tourists across the globe. Before the tourist era, most residents lived in poverty; nevertheless, this tourism city is developing at a record pace.

On the other hand, not only does international tourism influence positively on the national budget, it also facilitates the cultural integration between foreigners and the locals. In fact, when visitors come into contact with the local dwellers, they might gain deeper understanding about various cultural aspects such as language, customs, traditions, the way of living and behaviors. As a result, the local inhabitants can broaden cultural horizon through learning how different people from other cultural backgrounds think and behave. Therefore, such cultural contacts would gradually instill the sense of understanding and sympathy between two sides. For instance, Vietnamese previously did not have any idea about the American cultural identity. However, the tourist attractions in Vietnam have served thousands of tourists from the USA. Many local inhabitants now, can understand the American jokes, which is one significant part of their oral culture. In other words, international tourism is conducive to cultural exchange.

In conclusion, current affordability of travelling abroad is why many nations are now boosting their tourism industry, and I wholeheartedly believe that this development is socially and economically beneficial to one nation.