Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a stereotype regarding brain drain when a huge number of students are inclined to pursue their education path in other countries. Although it is no denial that this trend still eventuates, I, as an advocate, believe strongly that everything is changing now since some apparent advantages to the country are conspicuous.

First, a source of high-skilled and well-educated labourers is the fruitful achievement that a nation deserves to get thanks to the students learning overseas. This is because with the advanced education system, several developed countries are becoming the greatest destinations of learners who wish to expand their knowledge and adopt new thoughts, which can help to mould a better worker for the work labour. Furthermore, overseas students deem to bring the modernization and the advance in technology back to their home country with a strong desire to adjust and boost the economy. The growing number of young teachers following their further education in foreign countries is a rational example to prove the correctness of this trend. With new teaching methods aiming to develop learners’ critical and logical thinking as well as the application of technology, their lessons turn to attract students’ attention more than old passive teaching methods of their seniors in the education sector. I remember vividly my university teacher’s claim that don’t teach the old dogs new lessons.

Second, the fear of brain drain has created a hesitation when letting would-be main labourers study abroad. It is a wide belief that those people seem to be lured by the greater welfare and handsome salary offered to settle down in foreign countries rather than be back home and devote themselves to the growth of their nations. However, this is absolutely a misleading understanding. The fact must be mentioned that the government does recognize the issue and makes endeavors to encourage students studying abroad to serve their home countries. Moreover, the young now themselves are cognizant of the importance in boosting their home’s economy; therefore, it is inaccurate to evaluate that the trend of overseas learning does more harm than good to their homeland.

In conclusion, with a well-trained workforce, the economy is likely to receive numerous benefits.