Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is claimed by some people that innate characteristics is the determinant of whether a person grows up into a criminal, while the opponent of this idea argues that social conditions and misery are what to blame for. Although both of the opinions stated remain reasonable, I would be more persuaded by the later view.

On the one hand, individuals’ natural personalities can be attributable to whether or not they become a criminal. Regarding those with mental breakdown such as epilepsy, they are innately deprived of the ability to take control of their behaviors and being unable to think straightly. As a result, if they suffer from over-provocation, these people are more likely to make serious mistakes of committing crime or manslaughter, even just by accident. What is more, individuals who are born selfish and lazy can also turn into offenders in the future due to their hatred for others’ achievement and the pipe dream of gaining without paying. Hence, youngsters like these may choose to steal from others to make a living instead of working hard with their own hands.

However, those individuals discussed as above only account for a small percentage of the crime rate, it is rather the responsibility of current issues and hardship to take for the breeding of future wrongdoers. As a matter of fact, many under-priviledged people have to resort to crime such as stealing or blackmailing, even when they do not want to, as a way to free themselves from the quagmire of life. Additionally, other social problems namely unemployment can also be another root for crime. Clearly enough, without a stable self-economy, which might be acquired by obtaining a job, individuals are unwantedly forced to seek different other ways, including committing crimes, in order to get by.

In conclusion, I concur that social conditions and poverty are the major factors that contribute to prevalent crimes. Therefore, both the governments and citizens should make joint efforts to prevent this from thriving.