Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Horizontal city is considered as the most ideal place to settle down by some people, while others on the opposite side argue that living in a city growing upwards is far much better. For this debate, my stance rather leans towards the former opinion for reasons given in the following essay.

Of course, vertical structure might bring people lots of undoubtable merits. Firstly it is because this way of constructing is able to efficiently utilize spaces, especially in some areas which are densely populated. To exemplify, Hanoi obviously has a large amount of individuals living in, resulting in several disadvantages to its citizens. Yet thanks to the building of condominiums and skyscrapers, more vacant lands have been managed to be well used for dwellers’ purposes such as selling and permanent living. Besides, in most vertical towers lie modern supermarkets and other grocery stores, which can provide citizens with insurmountable convenience namely food, clothes and stationary to meet their necessary demands.

However, there are also numerous benefits that one can gain from living in a city that grows horizontally. To begin with, buildings constructed outwards are far more attractive and scenic, compared to those built vertically. While high-rise skyscrapers might sometimes spoil the scenery for often occupying lots of space, cities designed on a large piece of land tend to preserve most of the surroundings. This consequently allows people to have more chances of participating in exciting outdoor activities such as flying kites or playing football, thereby boosting their overall well-being. Moreover, individuals are better ensured of safety, especially in case of fire, when living in horizontal cities as they are much more spacious and airy in comparison with the counterparts of being vertically erected.

In conclusion, while vertical cities are undeniably advantageous to some extent, it seems to me that the benefits that horizontal ones might bring do outweigh that of the former mentioned.