Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the unaffordability of higher education of disadvantaged students, the provision of free-of-charge education has emerged as a topic of interest. It is argued that every students should be pursued college without fee, irrespective of their financial status. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that free-college policy would have an adverse bearing on both students and economy.

There are many compelling reasons why the government should waive tuition for every students. On the personal level, this policy will make opportunities for individuals who have talents in learning, however, can not approach higher education because of their socio-economic background. Therefore, they can easily find out their suistable jobs. On the society level, this free-college policy will bring out a more educated workforce, which is conductive to the prosperity of the economy and cultural community.

However, despite the aforementioned benefits, I would contend that covering higher education tuition for all students will effect negatively on both students and society. Firstly, the working market has become the more competitive environment. Therefore, the more bachelor’s degree holders, the more difficult they can get a job. So that aquisition of a tertiary degree will be meaningless. Secondly, if the government allot more money to abolish tuition fees, this will take a toll on government coffers. This will also leads to increase tax, budget deficits and decrease other social welfare.

In conclusion, while the potential benefits of tution waiver for every students make it seem a good idea, I believe that we should invest money on other fields of the society.