Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that university education is everyone’s basic right and tuition exemption should be made by the government regardless of students’ socio-economic backgrounds. Although there has been a constant debate related to this practice, I am certain that waiving tuition would have a beneficial bearing on both the students and the government.

One of the chief influences of the free-college policy is that it will give a rise to students’ advantages in studying. Universities, or colleges, are considered to be a smaller version of our society, therefore, it is unavoidable that the difference between the privileged person and the underprivileged one is prominently huge, especially owing to the unnecessary high tuition fee. Regardless of social class, every student has equal intelligence and they should receive the same opportunities to gain admittance into college or university. If the entire country’s students are fully paid for the university course, discrimination will simultaneously decrease. Moreover, cutting off exorbitant prices for studying allows the gross enrollment rate to increase, subsequently, numerous gifted students, or hidden geniuses, who are held back by financial obstacles, will get access to qualified education programs in multiple universities.

Another point worth noting is that investment in education is an appropriate choice as it could bring back unexpected benefits for the government. In terms of career, individuals having bachelor’s degrees would definitely stand the chance of landing higher-paid jobs. Hence, a high-quality workforce is a prime contributor to the development of the economy, which means this investment has resulted in both the education and financial aspect of one nation. To elucidate, Germany is an industrialized country in Europe, famous for paying the highest average gross annual salary for workers via several abolish tuition fees for undergraduates.

In conclusion, I still assert that students have a right to attend university, as well as the government should take into consideration the abolition of university tuition to create a high-standard society concerning economy and education.