Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that government should make it free for all students no matter what background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether the government's abolishment of university tuition fee regardless of students' socio-economic background is necessary. While this is valid to some extent, I believe that there might be some problems.

There are several reasons why higher education should be free for all students. It significantly benefits students, especially whose family is struggling with financial problems as the provision of free-of-charge education offers them an opportunity to get a stable job. If they are not assisted, the lack of money for college may result in their quitting studying to make a living by becoming a waiter or a worker. Furthermore, the accelerating number of people pursuing tertiary education would give rise to a more educated workforce that significantly contributes to economic prosperity.

However, I would argue that these advantages are outweighed by the drawbacks. In the increasingly competitive job market, a bachelor's degree might not ensure that every job seekers could succeed. Moreover, when the government takes charge of the tuition fee, budget deficiency is seemingly inevitable. As a result, society will not only suffer from tax hikes but also the reduction in wellfares.

In conclusion, although tuition waiving seems to be a good idea, I think that it might have some adverse influences on both students and society. This is because of the competition among job seekers and the possible imbalance in governmental monetary distribution.