Some people believe that the government should make laws regarding nutrition and healthy lifestyle, while others think that it is a matter of personal responsibility. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It is argued that it is the government’s responsibility to impose laws and regulations on eating habits in order to improve public health, whilst others oppose that individuals should be allowed to eat freely according to their preferences. Although there are some clear merits of the former, I would contend that it is the right of people to decide on their own diets.

It is understandable why the government should enforce laws on dietary management as it can create a clear framework for improving overall health quality. In this modern era, people are overburdened with heavy workload; hence a deterioration in their habit of eating as they would turn to processed or fast food for convenience. By asking the population to follow a fixed set of food and nutritions can curb this adverse consumption significantly as unhealthy habits, say, abusing alcohol or devouring junk food are being limited; therefore potential ailments like obesity or malfunctioned digestive system can be avoided.

Having said that, I believe that individuals should be given more incentive to eat of their own will. The first reason is that, people have different tastes as well as health states that they require various scales of nutritions. Therefore, it would be difficult to decide whether to ban on a particular food or not. In addition, as technological advancements have allowed people to have more accesses to mass media such as online newspaper or television. As the result, the public’s knowledge about healthcare has raised significantly over the last decade, they are nudged towards leading a healthier lifestyle by taking up exercises or meditating without having to give up the practice of eating fast food.

In conclusion, while there are some benefits of governments imposing laws on food and nutritions, I would opine that individuals should be given the privilege to eat freely.