Some companies sponsor sports and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In this increasingly competitive market, businesses force themselves to come up with innovative methods to build their brand. Among these, several companies have provided financial support for sports events and sports stars. While some people express their opposition to this action, others endorse it. This essay will explore both perspectives and present my strong agreement with the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, opponents of business-funded sports may emphasize the inappropriate degree of influence firms impose on athletics. As the primary objective of every company is to achieve sound financial health, they will not simply sponsor sports stars unconditionally. In the contract, athletics will be required to engage in their advertisements to attract their supporters to buy the items, hence, their practice time will be reduced, negatively affecting their performance during the match. Additionally, effective advertising demands sports players maintain their fame, triggering a win-at-all-costs attitude among them. Some of them are likely to indulge in dubious activities such as the use of illegal drugs, and afterward destroy the genuine purpose of sports events.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned disadvantages, there are a number of positive effects on sports supporters and financial institutions themselves that justify the encouragement of business sponsorship. With regard to the business, this practice is obviously an effective marketing strategy. Interaction with customers is essential to a company’s long-term success. By titling themselves as one of the suppliers of one sports event, a firm is able to make a good impression on its fans and break into the sports market. Turning to the speculators, the sports tournament organizers might have a larger budget to provide additional entertainment activities surrounding sports events like selling drinks and hotdogs in a football match and hiring professional dancers to perform during the breaktime. This can enormously enhance the experience of sports fans coming to see the match in reality, making them appreciate their choice to buy the ticket to the stadium.

In conclusion, while business sponsorship may exert potential drawbacks, I am more inclined to the view that the benefits bear a greater significance. Specifically, such enormous expenses can be used to increase sales for the firms and improve the sport-viewing experience for supporters.