Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

It is no exaggeration that there has remained a topic of debate as to whether it is better for older people to continue working or not. While some proponents are convinced in favor of older individuals continuing to work, others hold a contrasting viewpoint. Personally, I completely agree with this idea as this trend has countless benefits not only to companies but also to these old generations.

On the one hand, providing job opportunities to older generations can bring economic benefits to organizations. This is because those who are in their mid-sixties have accrued a great deal of experience, which both helps firms to deal with various issues effectively and efficiently and can enrich younger staff mindset, consequently improving corporations productivity and profitability. For example, a massive majority of owners of law companies say that they prefer to employ well-qualified lawyers who are over 60 years olds, as those professionals have sufficient work experience to help firms to cope with variety of legal problems, making organizations more profitable and productive.

On the other hand, having a job in their later years is beneficial to older people's mental and physical health. The reason is that when having retired from their jobs and staying at home day-to-day, older generations normally are less likely to accept a new lifestyle and even struggle to feel fulfilled and rewarded, which may result in several psychological problems for them. By contrast, if those who have retired are offered an opportunity to continue working in a firm, they are able to make several contributions to organizations and interact with their team members, which has a huge number of benefits to their mental and emotional conditions. For instance, in Japan, a number of news outlets point out that older retirees are suffering from depression, as they are unable to adapt to the change of lifestyle and feel they are less useful.

In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about whether offering suitable jobs to retired populations is a good situation or not, while I am of the opinion that this is a positive circumstance as it brings several advantages not only to corporations but also to elderly residents.