Some people believe that living in big cities is becoming more difficult. Others believe that it is getting easier. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that life in major urban areas has become much of a challenge. Although there is some truth to that statement, I think qualities of life in cities have made it easier for residents in terms of educational opportunities and career prospects. On the one hand, there are two principal reasons why some people find it difficult to live in a metropolis.

First, space of living is becoming more and more limited in many major cities, such as London. Such overcrowding, which can be attributable to not only population explosion but also migration from the countryside, makes it uncomfortable for residents in many terms, public transportation overload for example. Second, crime rates have been accelerating for the past few years in urban areas; and this is a tremendous detriment to the life and safety of city dwellers.

On the other hand, I would side with those who suppose living in cities is easier than ever before. To begin with, access to higher quality education has been largely dispensed, resulting in skilled workforce. In fact, more institutions and schools have come into being recently, with teachers carefully trained and facilities greatly modernized, to provide students with the best education. Furthermore, the non-stop progress of the economy is the foundation of adequate employment opportunities. Despite significant competitiveness in the job market, people can still find a decent profession equivalent to their qualifications and competence, making their lives less stressful.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it is more comfortable to live in a big city owing to advanced education systems and more employment opportunities.