Some people believe that the newspaper is the best way to learn about news, while others believe that a more effective way is through other media. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It has been argued by some that newspapers are the best way to keep abreast of current affairs while others claim that other digital media are better hubs of information. In my opinion, both sources have their advantages which are elaborated on in this essay, yet modern forms of media are superior due to their ability to provide recently updated news and other useful functions.

On the one hand, there are good grounds for arguing that newspapers still hold the most popular position among newsreaders. First and foremost, while internet platforms are vulnerable to fake news and false information, newspapers are more authentic and trustworthy. Indeed, most newspaper is written by professional journalists, and undergo vigorous censorship carefully by prestigious publishers, and authorities before being made available to the public. In contrast, news on social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, can be misleading as there are few regulations about what Internet users can post on these sites. Furthermore, those who choose printed newspapers as their source of information are less likely to be affected by distractions, including advertisements and notifications that often pop up on people’s screens when they use their smartphones or laptops.

However, I agree with the assertion that newer media outlets outweigh traditional newspapers because of their high-speed information delivery and diversity. Online media can provide up-to-the-minute information about events as they happen so those who read internet-based newspapers can get hourly news updates that are essential for their life or work. For instance, for stock investors, as keeping up with the frenzy trend of the financial market and the business activities of companies could make or break their success, online platforms of the press become the most effective way for them. In addition, spectators of modern means of media are provided with a comprehensive perspective under multiple forms from various sources of information. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, apart from reading news on familiar social media such as Facebook or Twitter, people can access the official website of WHO to listen to analysis of medical professionals to be better informed about the danger as well as watch videos documenting tragic deaths caused by coronavirus over the world at that time.

In conclusion, although it cannot be denied certain benefits of reading newspapers,  I believe modern media forms are preferable since they provide readers with hourly updated information and various experiences. Therefore, it is not surprising to witness traditional papers declining gradually in importance in digital world nowadays.