The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

It is believed that many towns and cities of the previous centuries’ buildings were better off inhabited by past residents rather than the modern. In my viewpoint, some significant effects can be derived from this notion along with the substantial solutions which I will explicate in the ensuing paragraph.

Looking at the considerable effects, if the historic buildings in a vibrant city still existed in the long run, it would spend on a great maintenance budget such as replacing old ornaments which heavily cost the homeowner. As a consequence, not only would individuals pose extra financial expenses but also such a building hardly meets an appropriate preservation. Moreover, this may deteriorate those living there because of the difficulty to cope up with extreme seasons. This also most likely ignites the old-material constructions to collapse and risk environmental surroundings, such as Havana’s old town killing people after construction accidents.

In another viewpoint, the answer to tackle these problems is that people should be aware before inhabiting the building, such as its quality and comfortability. When living in the buildings, they would acquire a personal connection and comfortable feeling. In addition, the government might refurbish the old buildings with the same architectural designs and function them for public places such as museums or libraries. As transformed into local heritage in China, for instance, 19th century Russian-style buildings not only attract more tourists to their historical uniqueness and value but also earn more income to the locals.

Overall, the issue of settling living in old buildings appears to bring detrimental effects such as spending a big budget on regular maintenance and risking the homeowners. Meanwhile, the alternatives are that people should be aware about the construction age and reconstruct the same preserved designs.