Some young people like to copy the behaviour and clothes of famous people today. Why might this be the case? What problems can it cause?

Several youths enjoy imitating the manner and appearance of well-known celebrities from today’s era. From my standpoint, some significant causes can be derived from this notion along with the effects which I will elucidate in the subsequenting paragraph.

First, mimicking the outlook of prominent people tends to decrease the moral values of some cultures through normalising unethical behaviour. Along with advances in digital technology, social media has a crucial role in driving public perception. As seen in Youtube Podcasts, a host displays jokes against the invited guests (disabled and poor people), which turns it into normalising the insulting words. Moreover, the desire of how kids get accepted in peer-pressured surroundings requires them to purchase items compulsively. For instance, wearing luxurious clothes with eccentric oversized ones from high-end brands, the Row and NYC. Wardrobe, is identical to Billie Eilish’s style.

Regarding the effects, having an inauthentic self-identity results in a loss of self-image because they equate themselves with the traits of others. Psychological study showed that many experience an inferiority complex in which they feel chronic self-doubt, low self-esteem and withdraw themselves from social interaction. In addition, parents may spend excessive amounts of money beyond their capacity to fulfil their children’s desire in purchasing clothes and branded accessories. Seemingly, paylater loans (Shopee and Spotii) used by young people instantly transact their needs. Thus, such huge expenses are covenanted to parents, only to indulge what tertiary lifestyle their kids lead to.

To sum up, adoring to emulate the style and attitude of modern-day idols arise from the reasons ranging from normalising unacceptable etiquettes to ambition to receive public recognition. Meanwhile, the negative results that we could see are disappearance of one’s identity and financial burden for family.