Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.
Some people argue that only electronic reading material should be used for children to read, while others contend that
only printed material is appropriate. This essay will discuss both sides of the view and then I will give my opinion.
Usage of online content for children to learn to read has benefits. Electronic media is highly accessible with low cost to its
production. This makes it easy to use for exposing a child to wide variety of subject. For example there are a lot of free
story books available on Internet which can be used by kids. This will entertain them and also help develop their vocab and
spark a child's imagination. Additionally using electronic media for learning to read will assist in familiarizing children
to technology. Nowadays technology is huge part of everyday life. Early exposure will ease the children into acquainting
themselves with how to efficiently use it. We can also help them understand drawbacks of using electronic media and how to
use it judiciously.
Printed material also has some advantage for children. Using printed content as reading material has been proven by studies to
be best for comprehending a subject. It is slower to read and children will take time to understand the matter. It is also
appropriate for note taking, highlighting and memorization. In addition to that physical reading material will cause some
emotional attachment for kids. This will prompt them to take better care of their things and teach them responsibility.
In conclusion, printed material does have its benefits. However, I am inclined to believe that electronic media serves better
as the medium for learning. The easy accessibility of knowledge provides new outlook to learning. Also technology has become
central to life and children should be allowed to immerse in its wonders.