Some people believe that only students with the best academic performance should be rewarded, while some other people think it is more important to reward students with improvement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is universally believed that providing students with many awards is an effective way to improve academic performance. Some reckon that only the top performers are eligible to receive their rewards, while others argue that students who made progress should be rewarded.

The reason for advocates of awarding students who achieved the best academic performance is that one needs to pay a great amount of effort than other classmates to make a higher grade in the exam. Besides, they are normally considered as the positive model to encourage others to work hard. Moreover, awarding high-level students with prizes are usually seen as a good way for nurturing the elitists for future society.

However, it is also necessary for the school to give certain awards to other students. If the teacher only pays attention to those few top performers and ignore other the rest of students, the enthusiasm of students to study might be reduced. These extrinsic award provided to them is not only a recognition of their performance but also a motivator for the future study because a sense of accomplishment can boost their confidence and help them become those high-level students eventually.

Personally, both of the two arguments are reasonable, therefore, not only excellent students are rewarded, but also those who made progress in their study should be honored.